Southern Cross Soloists

Friday, 6 October 2017 at 8pm

Tania Frazer (oboe), Alan Smith (violin), Emma Scholl (flute), Patrick Murphy (‘cello), Alex Raineri (piano), Ashley Smith (clarinet), Ysolt Clark (horn)


Mozart  -  Serenade in E-flat K375 (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, violin, cello, piano)

Bruch - Two movements from Eight Pieces op 83 ( clarinet, cello, piano)
             No 5. Rumänische Melodie: Andante
             No 4. Allegro agitato

Mendelssohn - Konzertstück No 2 in D minor, op 114
                         (oboe, clarinet, violin, cello, piano)


Mendelssohn - Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream incidental music, op 61
                         (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, violin, cello, piano)

Mendelssohn - Andante and Rondo Capriccioso  in E, op 14 ( flute, piano)

Mozart - Piano concerto no 23 in A,  K488
               (piano, flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, violin, cello)                   


About the Artists

Formed in 1995, Southern Cross Soloists have become one of Australia’s most successful and admired chamber ensembles, As Ensemble in Residence  at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the group presents its own annual concert series. It also presents the annual Bangalow Music Festival featuring collaborations with virtuoso performers from Australia and abroad.

To read more about the Southern Cross Soloists, visit their website

Programme Notes

Their concert programme brings together the beauty of Mozart, the romance of Bruch and the enchantment of Mendelssohn, performed with the superb technique and vibrant style for which the Southern Cross Soloists are renowned.

Detailed programme notes for each of the works will be available nearer to the concert date.


SXS W 400