Thank You Southern Cross Soloists

There was an exhilarating joy in last night's Southern Cross Soloists concert. On stage there were seven masterful musicians performing works of great composers in new arrangements full of fresh musical ideas and vibrant energy.

One of the stars of the night was young Australian composer John Rotar. He arranged a number of the works in the programme in a way that expressed the spirit of the original works in the unique voices of the enseble's instruments.

The concert programme was a showcase for the virtuoso talents of the individual musicians, as well as their fine ensemble work. There were many stand-out moments in their performance: the perfect blending and balance of the oboe and clarinet in Mendelssohn's Konzertstuck; the lush romantic expressiveness of the 'cello in Bruch's Eight Pieces; the dazzling flute passages in Mendelssohn's Andante and Rondo Capriccioso; the joyous élan of the piano in Mozart's piano concerto.

ClassikON's Tony Burke came to the concert  and  summed up the concert as: " All in all, a superbly constructed programme giving a wonderful evening of entertainment." Read his full review on the ClassikON website.

These are some of our favourite pre-concert rehearsal photos. 


Southern Cross Soloists 2

                           Southern Cross Soloists  rehearsing  Mozart Serenade K375


                             Alan Smith Tight Crop

                                         Alan Smith - Mozart piano concerto K 488


                              Ysolt Clarke

                                             Ysolt Clark - Mozart Seranade K 375


Weiss Raineri and Smith 

               Meta Weiss, Alex Raineri, Ashley Smith - Bruch excerpts from Eight Pieces 


Raineri Sholl

          Alex Raineri, Emma Sholl -Mendelssohn Andante and Rondo Capriccioso op 14


                               Meta Weiss

                             Meta Weiss, Alex Raineri - Bruch excerpts from Eight Pieces
                             Meta performs on a Gioffredo Cappa cello, c. 1690  


fraser raineri smith 3

            Tania Fraser, Alex Raineri, Ashley Smith - Mendelssohn Konzertstuck op 114


                                                Photos and text: Charmain Boyakovsky